في الثمانينيات من القرن الماضي، تم تشجير أشجار المانغروف (Avicennia marina)، والتي كانت تعيش بشكل طبيعي حول منطقة الذخيرة في قطر،على طول السواحل القطرية لمنع إنجرافها وفقدان الموائل. لقد أصبحت هذه الأشتال التي تم زراعتها في المسيعيد والوكرة وشواطىء أخرى غابات مورقة، نتج عنها نظاماً بيئياً متكاملاً، والذي يعد واحدًا من أكثر المناطق إنتاجية في البيئة البحرية إلى جانب مجتمعات الشعاب المرجانية وقيعان الأعشاب البحرية.

طورت شجرة المانغروف لنفسها تكيفات من أجل الحياة في الموائل شديدة الملوحة، وذلك عن طريق إخراج بلورات الملح تحت أوراقها، وللحياة في الرواسب التي تستنفد الأكسجين بسرعة عن طريق إستخدام رئات خارجية: وهي عبارة عن إمتدادات للجذر تدعى حاملات الرئات، حيث تساعد على جلب أكسجين إضافي. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن أشجار المانغروف نبات ولود، حيث تنمو أشتاله من بذور موجودة على النبات الأم قبل إطلاقه في الموائل الساحلية. تزيد هذه الآلية بشكل كبير من النجاح في تأسيس النظم البيئية الساحلية والمتغيرة بإستمرار.

توفر غابات المانغروف المأوى وأماكن للتغذية وللحضانة لعدد لا يُحصى من الكائنات الحية. قد يتم إستضافة الكائنات الحية على أشجار المانغروف نفسها أو حول النظام الجذري أو ضمن المنطقة العامة من الغابة. تعد السرطانات وبطنيات القدم وجماعات الأسماك والروبيان ونطاطات الطين من ضمن بعض الكائنات الحية التي يتم مشاهدتها بشكل شائع في هذا النظام البيئي. وتشكل غابات المانغروف أيضًا مأوى مؤقت للطيور البحرية الزائرة خلال هجرتها في فصلي الخريف والربيع على طول مسار طيرانها من شرق إفريقيا/غرب آسيا.

يمكن العثور على غابات المانغروف في المناطق البين المدية-الجزرية وكذلك حول الشواطئ الرملية والصخرية. يتضمن المجتمع النباتي الذي يرتبط بأشجار المانغروف في المناطق البين المدية-الجزرية العشبة الزجاجية (Salicornia europea) والسويد البحري (Suaeda maritima) والشنان (Arthrocnemum macrostachyum) وغيرها. بينما يحيط بمناطق المانغروف في الشواطئ الرملية والصخرية الطرتوث (Cistanche tubulosa) والطرفة (Tamarix passerinides) والعكرش (Aeluropus lagopoides) وHalopyrum mucronatum ، حيث أن الأنواع الثلاثة الأخيرة معروفة بقدرتها على إنشاء كثبان رملية نباتية من خلال حبس الرمال.

تشكل الظواهر الناجمة عن التغير المناخي تهديدًا لسلامة غابات المانغروف كنظام بيئي وللكائنات الحية التي تعيش فيه. كذلك يشكل تطوير الخط الساحلي تهديدًا آخر حيث تُقتلع أشجار المانغروف من جذورها خلال هذه العملية، وبالتالي فقدان الموائل لجميع الكائنات الحية التي تتخذها منزلاً لها. وأخيراً، تتأثر أشجار المانغروف أيضًا “من الناحية التغذوية” عندما يتم إلتفاف الأعشاب البحرية مثل (Sargassum boveanum) حولها وتغطية مراكز إلتقاط الضوء على أوراقها، مما يجعلها غير قادرة على القيام بعملية التمثيل الضوئي لإنتاج جزيئات عضوية ضرورية لنموها.

© Chatziefthimiou AD. 2019. Coastal Marine Environment in Qatar. Qatar e-Nature.

المصادر:
Basson PW et al, 1977
Al-Khayat J, 2014
Naser HA, 2014
Almahasheer H, 2018
Walton MEM et al, 2014
Sale P et al, 2011

In the 1980s, the mangrove Avicennia marina, naturally occuring in Al Thakira, was afforested along the coastline of Qatar to prevent coastal erosion and habitat loss. These seedlings planted in Messaid, Al Wakra, and in other shores, have become lush forests, having engineered a whole ecosystem, which is one of the most productive in the marine environment, alongside coral reefs and seagrass beds.

The mangrove tree itself, has evolved adaptations to life in very saline habitats, by excreting salt crystals under its leaves, and to life in sediments that get quickly depleted of oxygen, by bringing in extra oxygen using external lungs; root extensions called pneumatophores. Furthermore, the mangrove is a viviparous plant, growing its seedling from seed on the mother plant before its release on the coastal habitat. This mechanism significantly increases success in getting established in the ever-changing coastal and intertidal ecosystems.

Mangrove forests provide shelter, and serve as feeding and nursery grounds for a myriad of organisms. Organisms may be hosted on the actual mangrove, around the root system or in the general area of the forest. Crabs, gastropods, fishes, shrimp and Mudskippers are some of the common inhabitants. Mangrove forests are also a transient home to marine birds visiting during their fall and spring migration along the East Africa/West Asia Flyway.

Mangrove forests may be found in the intertidal zone, as well as in sandy and rocky beaches. The plant community that associates with mangroves in the intertidal, include Salicornia europaea, Suaeda maritima, and Arthrocnemum macrostachyum among others. While in sandy and rocky beaches, mangroves may be surrounded by Cistanche tubulosa, Tamarix passerinides, Aeluropus lagopoides, and grass Halopyrum mucronatum, the latter three known for their ability to create phytogenic sand dunes by entrapping sand.

Climate change induced phenomena pose a threat to the health of mangrove forest ecosystem and to the organisms that it supports. Coastline development is another threat since these trees are uprooted in the process and thus the habitat is lost to all the resident organisms. Finally, mangrove trees are also “nutritionally” impacted when seaweeds like Sargassum boveanum get wrapped around and cover the photocenters of leaves, rendering them unable to carry out photosynthesis to produce organic molecules essential for their growth.

© Chatziefthimiou AD. 2019. Coastal Marine Environment in Qatar. Qatar e-Nature.

Sources:
Basson PW et al, 1977
Al-Khayat J, 2014
Naser HA, 2014
Almahasheer H, 2018
Walton MEM et al, 2014
Sale P et al, 2011